About Us:

Hotel Chitra is Coorg’s one of the friendliest Economy class hotels.
Hotel Chitra is located at Madikeri, providing accommodation needs to visitors and business travelers from past 55 years by name “Chitra Lodge”, since 1993 we are serving as “Hotel Chitra”.

We are known for providing best service in the hotel industry, catering to guests in the warmth of Mother Nature.
We accommodate 52 rooms at our hotel, ranging from 21 Standard rooms, 18 Deluxe rooms, 6 rooms having 8 beds in each for group of 8 guests, 2 rooms having 4 beds in each for group of 4 guests, and 3 rooms having 3 beds in each allowing guests to stay and enjoy comfortably either singles or in groups.

We are one of most experienced and renowned hotels in Coorg District.We provide quick online hotel booking to all our guests. The Hotel is approved by the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India.

The rooms on offer at Hotel Chitra offer a number of modern day amenities like attached baths, running hot / cold water supply, color televisions, laundry, telephones with direct dial facility and room service. Hotel Chitra offers other facilities like car parking, travel desk, car rentals, and doctor on call.

Dining is also a wonderful affair with an excellent multi cuisine restaurant to pamper the taste buds.
The ultimate place for visitors and business travelers to stay and enjoy the essence of nature and to have the untiring travel experience, Hotel Chitra assures the best service at all time and invites guests with its happy hospitable wings.

About Coorg:

Coorg or Kodagu  as it is officially known as one of the tiniest district in the southern part of Karnataka covering an area of 4,104 sq Km.

Coorg or Kodagu (originally called Kodaimalenadu) means ‘dense forest on steep hill’. Coorg, dubbed as the Scotland of India, lies on the Western Ghats.

There are many versions behind the origin of the name Kodagu. According to the Puranas, Kodava is the redifned name of Krodhadesa, meaning ‘Land of Anger’, said to have been inhabited by the Kodava tribe.

While for some, it is believed to have been named after the River Cauveri, where ‘kod’ means ‘give’ and ‘ava’ means ‘mother’ – which means Cauvery is the ‘mother to the people’.

Few believe the name originated from the Kannada kudu which means ‘dense forest’ on a steep hill. It is said that the history of Coorg dates back to as early as 888 AD.

The kingdom was ruled by many dynasties, starting with Gangas of Talakad, Kadambas, Cholas, Kongalvas, Changalvas, Hoysalas and Nayakas. Information on its early history has come primarily from the various inscriptions on stone and copper plates of 9th – 10th century.

The Haleri dynasty was the last noteworthy dynasty to rule the whole of Kodagu. It came into power around mid-16th century and was founded by a young price from Ikkeri. It was the first dynasty in the history of Kodagu, whch spanned 234 years and ruled the entire region.

Coorg consists of three taluks or administrative units viz Madikeri or Mercara, the District HeadQuarters, Virajpet and Somvarpet. Coorg borders Mysore district to its east, Dakshina Kannada district on the west, Hassan district in the north and the state of kerala to the south.

Climatically, Coorg can be divided into three seasons,

  • Winter Season : December To February,
  • Summer Season : March To May
  • Rainy Season : June To November